Might as well face it, you’re addicted to love.

I was never a Robert Palmer fan really. If you were alive at all in the 80’s though I suspect it was almost impossible not to have heard the song Addicted to Love. We recently finished a weekend of prayer and fasting at our church. The theme that appeared that weekend was love. I very much felt God was trying to speak to us this weekend and it was evident in the many different angles of Love He was speaking to us through a few different speakers. I believe it was during the Friday night service when someone shared with our church family that it is a desire of all human’s to be FULLY known (all of our hidden secrets and sins and idiosyncrasies) and in those still FULLY loved. They went on to share that the amazing thing is this is. God already loves us like this. He knows us, fully and completely (Jer. 1:5, Luke 12:7 and Matt 10:29) and even in knowing us He loves us completely (John 15:13 – Jesus did, 1 John 4:10, Eph. 2:4)!
Love is something we all crave. It’s something we need. I am continually amazed by the Love God has for us and how freeing it is to be loved that unconditionally. God’s knows us FULLY, and loves us still. We can be free of condemnation if we could only realize this truth. What’s even more amazing is the Kingdom of God will be built on this kind of love. A love that is fully accepting of every part of the recipient the love is focused on.
Have you ever noticed how complicated we’ve made our faith? The do’s and don’ts lists have become so long that they are virtually impossible to keep up with. What’s worse is there is hardly a trace of Love in any of the rules…Well, maybe not so much in the rules themselves but how they are policed. An easy example would be tattoos. Some people believe whole heartedly that tattoos are evil and wrong. Now love has little to do with views like this. What I mean is it’s hard to say that by forming an opinion like this they are either not loving or loving. However, where love comes into play is how we pass our “conviction” onto others? Is it loving to condemn those with tattoos? When we start playing this game we become much like the parable found in Matt. 18:21-35. We are loved fully by God yet we have such a difficulty accepting and loving other’s as completely as God loves and accepts us.
I spoke about love this Sunday during my ordination service. In my “Catch Up” blog I briefly shared about the service. So far my first week as Rev. Ev (Revan as others have tagged me) has been pretty good. Anyway I spoke about our responsibility when it comes to love. Have you ever read 2 Samuel 9? It’s only 13 verses but in you find one of the coolest stories about love. See back in the day of David (and still today in some regions) it was normal for a new King to wipe-out anyone involved and/or related to the past King. It prevented any anarchy and the possibility of them coming back with numbers and over ruling the new King. In this story however you find quite the opposite. I’m not going to tell you the story (you should read it) but I will say this about this story. We are both of the main characters in it. We are first Mephibosheth. Broken and rejected yet received in grace, kindness and love by the King, our Father, God. We are also called to be David. The one that reaches down and shows mercy, kindness and love. Read the story, it’s actually pretty amazing.
Have you ever joined a gym? I have. I bought the gym membership and unfortunately the point of the membership wasn’t getting in shape (I.E. The membership itself didn’t give me greater cardiovascular ability and ripped muscles – that’s natural for me 😉 ). The point was to workout. The perk of working out however was getting in shape. I’ve said this before in a previous blog. What’s the point of Christianity? Is it to get to Heaven? I don’t believe that is the point. I believe that Heaven is the perk of being a Christian. The point is to follow Christ (be Christ like). And in a nutshell that’s to love. We are called to be people that are known by our love.
I always perk up when I read a commandment Jesus says. In John 13:34-35 Jesus gives us a new commandment (as opposed to the old, if I gave you a new car would you still drive your old one?) He tells us to love one another as He has loved us (well we find out soon that He in His love is willing to die for us, that’s pretty committed love that we are called to emulate). He goes on to say that that is how others will know we are Christians. Amazing hey? It’s not what we do, or believe that people recognize our faith. It’s how we love that sets us apart.
In Matthew 12 Jesus is challenged and asked what the two most important commandments are. Guess what? They are both love centered. Love God, and LOVE others as yourself. It seems to me Jesus believed the point of Christianity was to Love. How are you doing in the love department? Are you loving only certain people? Are you loving only when it’s convenient for you? Or when you’re in the mood? Are you loving the people you shouldn’t love on paper (Matt. 5:44)? I know I really suck at love!
Jesus believed so much in love that He said you won’t enter Heaven unless you do it (Matt. 25:31-46). He even says the stuff we do as Christian’s won’t get us there (Matt. 7: 21-23). That verse has always freaked me out honestly cause I have done and do the things (minus the demon part, never had to do that) He talks about yet He says specifically at the end that He doesn’t know them. Crazy. So obviously love is pretty key to this thing we call Christianity.
I came across two great quotes in prepping for last Sunday. The first was from T.S. Eliot, “For us, there is only the trying. The rest is not my business.” Wouldn’t that be refreshing? Imagine going to a church filled with people just trying to love. People not concerned about your “tattoos”, but people just trying to live out their faith and loving others completely. The second was from the philosopher and teacher Dr. Cornell West. He was on Craig Fergusson and he said this. “I’m just trying to love my crooked neighbour with my crooked heart.” The honesty was refreshing. We are all crooked. WE ARE ALL SINNERS! It’s when we recognize our crookedness that we can be more gracious with other’s crookedness.
The kingdom of God is one big family. I know my brothers, well even my parents and extended family all have different opinions. But as a family, relationship comes first. We choose to love each other in spite of our differences and views. See love brings unity. And unity brings passion. I think that’s why Jesus gives us the commandment to love one another. Because it’s not only that in love WE grow, but in Love we allow others to Grow.
See I’ve learnt a few things over the years. It’s not our viewpoint on Homosexuality that will get us to Heaven. It’s how we treat them that will. It’s not our opinions on people or their sins that get us to Heaven. It’s how we treat them. Love friend’s is what matters. All we need is LOVE!! (The Beatles had a lot of things right). Stay tuned to the next part of this..The offense of the Gospel.

13 thoughts on “Might as well face it, you’re addicted to love.

  1. Really Good thoughts Revan, I enjoy your heart. Keep living loved by the father. I think that Love is the key, the key to who God is in our lives. But we need to try to express that love, through every aspect of our life. Through grace, mercy, and forgiveness acceptance.
    +1

  2. I’m impressed, I must say. Actually not often do I encounter a weblog that’s each educative and entertaining, and let me let you know, you’ve hit the nail on the head. Your thought is excellent; the problem is one thing that not enough people are speaking intelligently about. I’m very completely satisfied that I stumbled across this in my seek for one thing relating to this.

  3. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great I don’t know who you are but definitely you are going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  4. Unquestionably believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification seemed to be on the net the simplest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people think about worries that they plainly do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  5. After exploring a few of the blog posts on your
    web page, I seriously appreciate your technique of writing
    a blog. I saved as a favorite it to my bookmark website list
    and will be checking back soon. Please visit my web site too and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

