Insecurities and learning to live Carefree ~ God see’s us Differently

What are you insecure about?

I’m insecure about a million things depending on the day. Sometimes it’s my hair line. Other times I have a low body image. Other times it’s how much of a sinner I am compared to the saints around me. Honestly I am insecure about almost everything, from relationships to ability.

I have to watch myself with my boys. It’s so very easy to speak to them through my baggage covered lens and project the things I hate about myself onto them. I look at them and realize that unless I tell them they should not be happy they are exactly what they should be, happy. They aren’t concerned with their hairline, waistline or career path. I’m not sure if they can stay that way forever but I’m hoping that Danielle and I can nurture their happiness instead of planting insecurities and doubt in their lives.

I have to watch this with myself at church too. It’s easy to look at situations through our all-knowing lenses usually leaving hurt feelings and deflated passion in our wake. Stopping things that don’t fit into our picture of what a healthy Christian would do. Yelling at kids because they don’t realize that reverence is something you give to a building. Complaining about the service a volunteer is giving you.

If you’re anything like me the things that bother you the most are the things that you aren’t happy with deep inside yourself. We aren’t happy so why should they be?

Don’t pass on your fears and insecurities to those around you. If you don’t like your waist line or bald head, do something about it. Never make someone else think they should hate in themselves whatever it is you hate about yourself. And don’t stop watching Bruce Willis movies because he has somehow not only made bald work, but he seems to enjoy it (that one might be a bit of my jealousy popping out). Imagine telling him he should think less of himself because he’s bald? We do it everyday to the ones we love. If we aren’t happy about something we become jealous when someone is freely and happily displaying the same traits that we are insecure about. Or with our kids, we correct behaviours that are part of their personality because those very same traits are in ourselves and have caused pain or insecurities. Meanwhile they have been completely happy not knowing this trait is a problem.

The truth is God loves you. He loves me. He loves us just as we are. And if he loves us just the way we are, why are we telling our kids that they should lose weight, ask less questions or be quiet (I’m sure we can all add to this list). It’s probably because we don’t want people to notice that we aren’t perfect but the truth is that doesn’t matter. 1 Peter 5:6-7 in the Message says, “be content with who you are, and don’t put on airs. God’s strong hand is on you; he’ll promote you at the right time. Live carefree before God; he is most careful with you.”

We have more to offer than we think. Let’s stop the cycle of viewing everything through a self-conscious lens, remembering that God’s hand is on us. Life won’t be easy, but once we realize and know we are loved by a gracious, kind and loving community, family, friends and church it gets easier.

Leave a Reply

